Juniko (Twelve Lakes)

DescriptionJuniko is a group of lakes in western Aomori. They are said to be created by a landslide during a large earthquake during the Edo Period. When a stream became blocked, the lakes were formed. There are 33 lakes but they are called Juniko (‘twelve lakes’) because people could see only twelve lakes from Mt. Okuzure. Visitors can go hiking, camping, nature sightseeing, and mountain climbing, all while seeing the stunning autumn colors. After November, the lakes do not reopen until the spring.
ThemeAutumn Nature
Copyright© Aomori prefecture