Hirosaki Castle is a small three-storey fortress, originally built in 1611 by the Tsugaru Clan. This Edo period icon is considered an icon of Hirosaki. The castle is located in Hirosaki Park, a spacious public park of about 0.6 square kilometers.
The castle’s original five-storey keep burnt down in 1627 after being struck by lightning. Rebuilt in 1810, the present three-storey keep is the only one in the Tohoku Region that was not rebuilt in the modern era.